Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > EDF
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-05-2007, 08:56 PM

Default Car mods; restoration; rehab; audio thread

I am by no means a super expert on cars, I have restored a couple, 66 mustang, a couple wranglers, in teh process of redoing a superbee, and was a car audio nerd in HS. Ill just give a quick little rundown, and hopefully it will spur a discussion

audio:

this is pretty general, and the first thing you need to do is sit down and plan your budget. your budget is the determining factor on how you want to approacha new audio system. Never buy an "install kit", find a good electronics shop, and you will be able to find all your inline breakers, 4/8 gauge power wire, rca cables etc, for about 10% of what they charge for a kit at best buy

generally:

100 to 500: this will get you a new head unit, and maybe some replacement factory speakers, a cheap amp to power them

500 to 1000: this can get you a nice sub/amp, amp and new speakers, and a head unit

1000+ all the above, but w/ good components, and nicer amps etc

component speakers are basically 2 or 3 seperate speakers, that have a crossover to seperate the frequencies to the correct part (tweeter= high range, mid = voice, sub = bass), good compontents and a good amp will in some cases get you as much bass as a crappy sub. The most important part about getting good bass from any speaker/sub is the box/enclosure, bass moves air, getting the right sized box will allow you to move the most amount of air, and get the loudest bass. It doesnt matter too much where you position your speakers that are providing the bass, it is very important to get your tweeters about eye level, near your head, this will get you the best sound.