Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2006, 11:40 AM

Default Poker affiliates accesory to crime?

I heard from a friend that poker affiliates will be deemed an accesory to crime in the US. Can anyone back this up with documented proof? Thanks.
Old 10-26-2006, 12:16 PM

Default Re: Poker affiliates accesory to crime?

I cannot imagine how a poker affiliate could be legal now? I had a Party affiliate account that I rarely used and I canceled it the week before the ban went through. I would probably advise talking to an attorney on this one.
Old 10-26-2006, 12:19 PM

I'm not a lawyer but I think this pertains solely to U.S. - U.S. affiliate/player since 1) if it isn't illegal in a players' country to wager online, the U.S. affiliate wouldn't be participating in a crime and 2) if it is illegal in that other country the U.S. AFAIK isn't in the business of enforcing other countrys' laws so ostensibly wouldn't care. But I'm not a lawyer.

From http://gamblingandthelaw.com/columns/2006_act.htm (which someone posted here early after the legislation left the Senate):

" The greatest danger here would seem to be with affiliates. Any American operator can be easily grabbed. This includes sites that don’t directly take bets, but do refer visitors to gaming sites. If the affiliate is paid for those referrals by receiving a share of the money wagered or lost, it would not be difficult to charge the affiliate with violating this law, under the theory of aiding and abetting. Being a knowing accomplice and sharing in the proceeds of a crime make the aider and abettor guilty of the crime itself. The federal government could also charge the affiliate with conspiracy to violate this new Act."
Old 10-26-2006, 01:05 PM

[ QUOTE ]