Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > EDF
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-31-2007, 11:57 AM

Default The House

This is a post about poker. It's cross posted from my blog. I'm posting it here because I hope that there's other folks, like me, who feel the same tinge of regret that I do that they didn't capitalize on the opportunities that poker offered us.

Sometime early in 2004 I started playing poker. Threw 25 bucks online, lost it, decided I should learn how to play, got some books, started reading and posting on twoplustwo, threw another 25 bucks in there and ran that up to about 10 grand (half of that being one tournament score that instantly went to pay off my car loan). I bought some nice toys, had some fun, and did it without ever really putting my nose to the grindstone. Eventually I got tired of the emotional swings, a little bored with poker, cashed out what remained of my roll and stopped playing. That was around December of 2005.

Almost every day I walk by this house. It’s in a development right next to my apartment. It’s not a big house, or a terribly nice one, but it’s a killer location, one that’s perfect for me. It probably sold for somewhere around 450K. Every time I walk past this house I think “this is the house I would have bought if I’d been serious about poker.”