Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > The Lounge: Discussion+Review
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-26-2007, 10:47 PM

Default Non Fiction Recs: Chess, Guitar and Photography.

Ok, I know I ask for fiction recommendations for vacation in my other thread but these are for different purposes.

Guitar: I am a self taught average player (almost 5 yrs) w/ poor rhythm, poor soloing and no ability to read music. I have an average understanding of chords, timing and the layout of the guitar. Would like to learn the basics that I couldn't find well organized online as well as get into scales and soloing.

Chess: I am an above average player w/ only the most basic understanding of openings etc. I beat all my friends but they suck. Ive been watching Curtains Videos here: http://www.chessvideos.tv//forum/forum-24.html but would like a pretty comprehensive book.

Photography: this is for a gift, preferably digital based, for an amateur, was thinking Understanding Exposure or Complete Digital Photography 3rd ed.

Thanks.

-JP
Old 11-26-2007, 11:15 PM

Default Re: Non Fiction Recs: Chess, Guitar and Photography.

guitar-

www.guitarnoise.com - great lessons, and great forums too. You can ask anything at the forums, ask about scales, ask info on soloing and improvisation. They have a section where you can post your playing and get tips/comments/etc. What kind of music do you play? I've given lessons to people before, I could probably help too if you're looking at blues/blues rock type stuff. But again, guitarnoise is awesome.
Old 11-26-2007, 11:47 PM