Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2007, 02:47 AM

Default My Micro-Stakes FT Journey (Long) w/ Photoshop Story.

Inspired by recent BTYS and Skeety posts, I present:

My Micro-Stakes FT Journey

Sub Title: The day I Re-Learned to beat NL25.
(Not once do I mention all my FTP Mod's [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] )

Preface: I Started playing online about 2-3 years ago. Deposited 40$, ran it up to $170 and cashed out. Few months later deposited $60 again. Slowly ran it up to $100ish. The first weekend I started playing multiple tables I turned it into about $500, then made final 18 in a Sunday tourney and had a BR near $1k. I promptly went to NL100 and lost 2+ Buy-In’s as any newbie donk would. This was in the spring of 2k5.

I quickly found 2+2 and searched “bankroll management”. Since then I have always maintained 20++ buy-in BR. I had 2 $300+ BR’s on 2 sites. I did the LHE Bonus Whore routine, and eventually landed back at Doyles Room where I stayed for a year+ (without Rakeback [img]/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]). I kept a $1k+ BR playin up to 50c/$1 NL (mostly 10c/25c – 25c/50c). All totaled, I have withdrawn 20-25k over 3 years, always playing micro-stakes.

Enter Black Monday UIGEA. I promptly cash out 1.8k leaving me with a $200 BR. Donk’ed around there until March when they booted all USA players. . Deposited $300 at FT 2nd week of march.

My last year+ at Doyles all I played was Badugi. I had forsaken NLHE for Half-Pot Limit Badugi. So when I got to FT I immediately went to play Razz fixed limit. Lets just say that an ante/limit lowball game is –EV.

As any good micro-grinder I promptly began playing 8 FR NL10 tables as nitty as possible.