Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing

Old 09-07-2007, 10:16 PM

Default Commodities books: Classic in the field?

Just got my first gig out of school, in the back-office side of the commodities industry (precious metals mainly). As an econ grad, I didn't get heavy into the technical aspects of futures, options, hedging etc. As a result, I'm trying to learn more about this part of the business.

Are there any books considered sort of the HEPFAP of commodities? Generally considered a classic? I'm trying to avoid the crap that tries to get you to trade with the author's firm.

Thanks for any help...
Old 09-07-2007, 11:30 PM

Default Re: Commodities books: Classic in the field?

Rand,

Sorry don't have the answer to your question, but have a question for you. Im about graduate as an International Major (meaning all the talk I do about commodities is the Political Economy side) Im considering geting a Master's in Econ or Int'l Econ.

Did you like Econ? Do you think its taking you where you want to go?
Old 09-07-2007, 11:43 PM

In all honesty, I almost feel like I lucked out getting my foot in the door in this business. I've found economics, from a practical standpoint, at the undergrad level, has limited practical use outside of the casual lecture on sunk costs you can give your friends. Having said that, I knew at about 15 that I was going to major in economics. I really enjoyed the behavioral, purely rational models econ presented and find that I'm a much better "thinker" for having gone through that process.

I think the commodities business is one of the few pplaces ("perfect competition") you really get the chance to see this type of market at work.