Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Golf
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2007, 11:16 PM

Default Shanking problem at the range

I'm a novice (read: awful) golfer who only started taking it seriously this summer. I'm happy when I break 100 and my best round is a 92.

The last couple of times I'm at the range I've noticed a very strange phenomenon. I'll be hitting my shorter irons (8,9,PW) just fine and then out of nowhere the ball will just shoot off to the right (I'm a righty) at like a 45deg angle to my target line. I'll think that I swung too fast or something and really try a smooth, tempo swing but with the same result. Then a few swings later I'll get back to a normal shot again. This will continue with the short irons for most of the session, but generally not with the longer clubs.

What in the world am I doing wrong? I never have that type of shot on the course, although lately I have noticed that my irons are going further right than I want them to. Not really sliced as much as pushed that way. I was actually at the range tonight trying to work on that.

FWIW the range I go to uses the awful astroturf mats.

Any thoughts on what could be causing that? I'm sure its because I'm forgetting something simple.

Thanks

The Doc
Old 10-04-2007, 11:23 PM

Default Re: Shanking problem at the range

My dad really suffers from this...I think it's swinging too fast and the club taking a flatter plane (moving to the outside of your intended path) and the 1-2" difference in path causes you to take it off the hosel - the shank.
Old 10-04-2007, 11:46 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I'm a novice (read: awful) golfer who only started taking it seriously this summer. I'm happy when I break 100 and my best round is a 92.