Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

Old 03-18-2007, 06:32 AM

Default My new life - poker free!!

Disclaimer i am hammered so my points my sound bias!!

Before I start my rant I must say that I have been playing cards for about 3 years. over that time i have made a decent amount of money playing 50-100nl and small buyin multis.

Now I am a student and in no way do i need to play poker to make a living, i used to do it for fun and for a little extra cash.

As a mechanical engineer for the past two years I have watch my grades and overall effort towards university steadily decline. Not only that but my motivation towards going out and meeting new people has also dwindled. This anti social behavior has lead to a viscous circle of sitting around and smoking weed. After a particularly card dead night of a lame 1-2 cash i play in, I realized that poker was really holding me back from everything i could and wanted to accomplish in life.

Now I dont want this to sound like a bitching session because its not. I love the game of poker the respect everyone that makes money doing it. However when I took a step back and thought about all my friends that went "pro" (meaning have no other source of income other than poker) I realized that they gave up all there dreams in life to play a card game. here are four examples

1. Pre-med major at BU dropped out first year
2. finance major at NYU dropped out 2nd year
3. electrical engineer at BU dropped out 3rd year
4. final year at MIT for computer science masters dropped out

My situation is a little bit different in that I only have one semester left. However if I do not pass all my classes I will have to come back for another year which would suck ass because I am going to school in Canada and I'm def ready to leave this liberal place. So my goal was to not play cards again until I graduate.