Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-26-2007, 10:40 PM

Default o8poker.com\'s starting hand suggestions... (PLO8)

o8poker.com has a starting hand list for beginners...

Link to the starting hand suggestions: http://www.o8poker.com/Getting/starting1.htm

Does this look like a good starting point till your beating the game by a reasonable amount? (full ring, PLO8)
Old 06-26-2007, 10:42 PM

Default Re: o8poker.com\'s starting hand suggestions... (PLO8)

My impression is that those hands are for limit O8, but I could be wrong. Certainly there is a great deal of overlay between PLO8 and LO8.
Old 06-27-2007, 09:44 PM

I'm still new at this but the big main difference in starting hands between LO8 and PLO8 is that in PLO8 you need all four of your cards to be working together much moreso than in limit. Two-way hands like A3KT become much less playable because you're going to need near-perfect boards to have scoop potential and you're going to be vulnerable to being counterfeited/freerolled.

PLO8 becomes a game of 3/4'ing your opponent rather than scooping him. While everyone loves a scoop reasonable players will still fold when the don't have a chance either way but they'll pay off pot sized bets all the way when they have one way locked up even though they have absolutely no hope for the other side of the pot...because it's pot limit those 3/4 pots make for a lot of extra money in your pocket.

Anyways, the best sort of hands to play become AWWW or AAWW type hands (or AWW6/AAW6 since the 6 will give you 3/4'r potential against another wheel). High hands are also playable since if you get the right flop you'll have the potential to freeroll your opponent (i.e. You have AKQJds your opponent holds A23K the flop is QJT, many opponents will go to the felt with their broadway straight and either get their money back or you scoop them by making a flush/full house).