Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-01-2007, 10:51 AM

Default bankroll management for online poker

Ive been playing poker online for almost 2 years now, im definately down in the long run. Ive had a few cases where i would hit a nice run in a cash game and pull out 500$ but ive deposited 50-100$ more than 10-15 times.

My current bankroll only really lets me put about 50$ max online and I think i play way too high stakes for my bankroll. Sometimes i will find a 26$ tourney offering nice overlay or maybe a good ratio for satellite seats and jump in but although i make it close to cash often ive yet to make a big tournament cash. So my question is how would you manage a 50$ bankroll as to not go broke within a day or 2 of play. But also i find playing extreme low stakes, like a 1$ 45 person SNG to be extremely boring, playing for 5 hours to possibly win like 25$ or something.

Im thinking maybe use the 50 to play as many 8$ tournament buy ins for the 26$ tokens as i can, and then use them?

btw i play on fulltilt or bodog, which do you think would be a better choice for satellite and cheap tournaments
Old 06-01-2007, 11:38 AM

Default Re: bankroll management for online poker

Wait. Think. If you know you are playing at a loosing level change your approach. Learn to play better- books, forum interation, personal review of your own sessions, session reviews etc. It takes a while to learn. In the meantime start the process at the lowest possible levels and keep good records. Don't let a temporary win rate +variance temp you out of your discipline.

If that approach bores you join the multitude of people who happily pay out their hard earned money regularly for the "action". It doesn't have to be that way however. Your choice.
Old 06-01-2007, 11:46 AM