Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-21-2007, 01:19 PM

Default The Stock Market..... help please.

I am a complete noob when It comes to the stock market ( im pretty young) and know nothing about it. I have some extra money from poker and want to start investing. Would anyone be willing to talk to me about it or point to towards a web site? I have a book but I don't think that is the best way to get things done. You can coach me to be a stock market master and ill pay you if you are reputable...
Old 08-21-2007, 01:22 PM

Default Re: The Stock Market..... help please.

Basically, i am a student who plays poker and I want to know another way to get money without having an intense job so i can enjoy myself and have extra money in the long run.
Old 08-21-2007, 02:38 PM

Try searching or reading stickies.

Individual stocks are risky. It's very hard to consistently/accurately predict the future.

The best way for the average investor to invest is with a fund. A fund owns hundreds of stocks, whose ups and downs cancel eachother out. This effect is known as diversification. With a fund, you get the same expected returns as stock, but with much less risk.

There are a few types of funds. Some are "actively managed" and typically charge high fees. Others are known as "index funds" and charge low fees. Costs will hurt your returns. History shows that actively managed funds fail to beat index funds.

For these reasons, index funds are your best bet because they have the same high returns as stocks, are very diversified, and are low cost.

There are a number of ways to invest in index funds.

1) Get a good financial advisor. If you have hundreds of thousands of dollars, you can afford to have a good financial advisor manage your assets for you. They will help determine an asset allocation for you and maintain your portfolio.