Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-30-2007, 04:52 PM

Default Workout confusion, where to go from here?

Started working out about one year ago. Basically the first time I ever took it seriously since basketball in early high school. Went from about 300+ to my present 228 lbs. in a little over a year. Started off running and slowly cutting the absolute crap out of my diet (fast food, pepsi, etc.)

I've never really read any fitness or nutritional books and I am kinda lost on where to go from here. I'd like to build muscle, but don't want to get huge, and lose the rest of my stomach. I started lifting in December. Currently my lifting routine looks like this:

Bench Press 3x10 - 115 lbs., Squat 3x10 - 135 lbs., Deadlift 3x10 - 150 lbs., Barbell Curls 3x10 - 75 lbs., Dumbell Fly 3x10 - 35 lbs., Leg Extension? 3x10 - 120 lbs., and Leg Curls? 3x10 - 90 lbs.

I do this 3 days a week, usually a Tues/Thurs/Sun. I only have 150 lbs. in weights right now and I'm sure I could up some of these numbers but I want to set some kind of program first.

I also run after I lift, is this good, bad, horrible? I have heard so much conflicting advice about this. I run about 2 1/2 - 3 miles at about a 9 min. per mile pace. I have asthma so sometimes the running can suck but this has been becoming less of a problem as I run more.

As far as nutrition goes I'm pretty ignorant about it for the most part. My diet looks like this:

Mon.- B-Cereal, Bananna L- 12" Lite Turkey/Chicken Pita, Water D- Soup, Juice/Milk
Tues. - B- Oatmeal, Milk L- Lg. Chicken Salad, D - Soup/Healthy Choice Dinner
Wed. - B- Cereal L- 2 Chk. Burritos Taco Bell, Water D- Healthy Choice Dinner/Salad