Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2007, 05:19 AM

Default JJ overpair. what\'s your standard play?

pretty simple scenario. villain in this hand is 24/15/inf over a 60 hand sample. i've never played with him before, and don't know much of anything about him. i'm new to the table.

Full Tilt Poker, $0.50/$1 NL Hold'em Cash Game, 4 Players
LeggoPoker.com - Hand History Converter

BB: $96.35
UTG: $193
Hero (BTN): $120.35
SB: $127.05

Pre-Flop: J[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] dealt to Hero (BTN)
UTG folds, <font color="red">Hero raises to $4</font>, SB calls $3.50, BB folds

Flop: ($9) 6[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 7[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] (2 Players)
<font color="red">SB bets $7</font>, Hero calls $7

Turn: ($23) T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] (2 Players)
<font color="red">SB bets $17</font>, <font color="red">Hero raises to $62.50</font>

what is your plan on the flop? obviously most of this guys range is draws. would we rather get our money in now, or take the higher risk route of calling in order to keep our villain betting? same question on the turn.
Old 11-27-2007, 05:35 AM

Default Re: JJ overpair. what\'s your standard play?

I'd rather raise the flop and let him make a bad shove. As played I don't like the turn raise, just call and see the river
Old 11-27-2007, 05:45 AM

yeah, i kind of wasted my hand on the turn. i didn't feel too bad about it though, because even though i was essentially bluffing vs. his range, its still a really profitable bluff. after looking back on it though, i also think raising the flop is best, followed by calling turn.
Old 11-27-2007, 05:47 AM

raise flop all day
Old 11-27-2007, 07:02 AM

If you're not raising that flop, what flop are you raising that doesn't have a Jack in it?