Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-18-2007, 05:49 PM

Default Online Poker as your part time job!!!

Many players want to earn money playing poker..some even want to be pros. What I am looking for are people who either are pros, or use their earnings to help pay bills/buy things...
It started out as me needing a part time job along with my full time job....like delivering pizzas or something like that....but I decided to play poker to see if i could do it.
So ive been doing it for 8 months or so and I earn normally around 1000 per month..i have had 0 months, and i have won 2000 or more, but on average its been 1000 per month.
How do you go about using parts of it? Do you withdraw a set % of your wins each month? Do you withdraw a certain amount? Or do you let it build for lets say 3 months and then withdraw a larger chunk!
Any ideas on budgeting these poker earnings would be great.
Old 07-18-2007, 05:56 PM

Default Re: Online Poker as your part time job!!!

As long as you keep 500BB (limit) for the level your playing you can withdrawl the profits and still play comfortably. I dont play NL but im guessing it's 50 buy ins to play comfortably, no? When you do withdrawl, just make sure you have enough money to play comfortably.
Old 07-18-2007, 05:57 PM

Umm...

1. Determine how much money you need to be properly rolled for whatever stakes you play.

2. Withdraw the excess on a weekly, bi-weekly or monthly basis.

3. Repeat.
Old 07-18-2007, 06:03 PM

50 buyins in quite a lot. If your playing 1/2nl thats 5K. Thats definitely more than you would need. I normally keep 25 buyins, and thats on the safe side. I cant imagine you being good player and losing 25 buyins, let alone 50.
Old 07-18-2007, 06:13 PM

Its usually 20 Buy ins for NL.
Anyone budget their earnings for the month...10% spending..60% bankroll...30% debt repayment?