Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-21-2006, 09:00 PM

Default I have no idea what to do here...kind of long...end of rope stuff...

Yesterday I found out my girlfriend of 3 years has been cheating, and I broke up with her.

I'm in Chicago, and she went to Georgia over the weekend to find an apartment for us because I'm supposed to start law school in a couple weeks. I now have absolutely no motivation to go. I kind of didn't really want to go in the first place (when I was first applying), because I was going nowhere in life with crappy jobs and I wanted to do something with myself. But now I just flat out don't want to go. But, again, my BA in polysci isn't worth it's weight in dung, and so I've been floundering around for the past 2 years with crappy jobs. I've been a stellar student my entire life, and it depresses me to know that after all my effort in school, I'm basically a nothing.

If I decide to go to school, I have to move down to Georgia and take out a $45,000 loan; which kind of scares me because that's heavy cash when I'm depressed and unmotivated. Obviously that kind of investment is not to be [censored] with unless you're not messing around.

If I don't go to law school this year, I'll be applying for other graduate programs for next year. But but the thought of another year of being an office assistant is wretched; every day I feel I die a little bit and that I contribute nothing to anything. Moreover, there's been a huge build-up with my family and co-workers about going off to school to do something better with myself. Both have already thrown going-away parties and congratulated me en masse, and I don't even want to think about the embarrassment of me showing up to work next Wednesday, the day I'm officially not an employee and the day I'm supposed to drive to Georgia.