Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-08-2006, 10:49 PM

Default Poker on MBA Application

I will be applying to MBA programs in the next couple of months and wanted to get some advice on something I have been thinking about a lot.

First some background. I graduated from Georgia Tech in December of '05 with a degree in MGT and certificates in Finance and Econ (Overall GPA 3.2). I have taken the GMAT once, made a 710 cold, considering retaking it and studying some this time. I currently work for a prestigous consulting firm and will have 1 year of work experience on the app. I intend to apply to 5 or 6 schools including Wharton, Harvard, and Stanford. I will also have a couple safety schools.

Because I don't really have much which sets me appart from the bulk of the applicants at Harvard, Stanford, and Wharton, I was considering including my poker background. I would not include it for the safety schools.

Just so you guys are aware of what my poker background is: I have been playing for the last 5 years, 2.5 years online. I have been very successful in short handed limit games all the way up to 100/200. I have logged over 500k hands of 5/10+ with most of that in the 30/60 range and have an overall WR in these games of 1.8BB/100.

On the apps I would emphasize the math used in these games and include as much info as I thought was needed or relevant. So what do you guys think? Anyone have any inside info on this stuff? All help is appreciated.

Thanks,
JP
Old 08-08-2006, 10:57 PM

Default Re: Poker on MBA Application

I think the math you learned in undergrad is far more impressive and relevant than limit hold em math. (basically your application doesn't need help in the math area)

work for 2 more years, then apply

gl
Old 08-08-2006, 11:02 PM