Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-10-2006, 04:48 AM

Default NL or Limit in the beginning?

Hi!

I'm new to online poker (as well as live) and would like some recommendations about where to start, NL or Limit? I would also like to know which site you think I should try. I'm going to deposit about $300 if that helps.

Thanks
Old 05-10-2006, 05:02 AM

Default Re: NL or Limit in the beginning?

This is a frequently asked question. One opinion is here:

http://poker.wikia.com/wiki/Beginner...mit_hold_.27em

Another list of advantages/disadvantages is here:

http://poker.wikia.com/wiki/NLHE

My opinion is that you should learn to play whichever you prefer to learn. Others will proffer strong opinions, but I don't find them convincing.
Old 05-10-2006, 05:07 AM

I agree with the previous poster as long as you think you'll be comfortable playing NL right off the bat. I started with limit and I think it was a good way to leard about the strenght of hands and it also felt good to not having to risk my whole stack in one single hand.
Old 05-10-2006, 06:34 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I agree with the previous poster as long as you think you'll be comfortable playing NL right off the bat. I started with limit and I think it was a good way to leard about the strenght of hands and it also felt good to not having to risk my whole stack in one single hand.

[/ QUOTE ]

In the beginning it is very easy to get confused about alot of things, my advice is to stick with the one you intend to play. NL can be daunting, but limit is no easier to play, this is a myth, one which can lose you money.

Cambraceres
Old 05-10-2006, 01:31 PM

my opinion (FWIW, probably not much) is this:

i think it is completely crazy to play no-limit first... i think limit teaches you the card flow/values in a much lower risk way...