Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-03-2007, 06:11 PM

Default If you had more then $10k in neteller in 2006 but didn\'t pay taxes!!

I have had been in contact with several people on 2+2 who are in this partiular predicament so I figured this thread could help people like me or who are in a similar situation. I have checked through this forum and read several things but none that offered any kind of specific advice (if there is some point me to it because i missed it), so I thought soemthing like this might help in that regard.

Basically I started playing poker in February of last year with $200 bucks and made about $22k in 2006. Since then, I have spent some on small things here and there and have about $21k to my name. Half online and half in the bank.

I talked to several people around march and they all told me that paying taxes was the thing to do, but realistically, since I didn't do any transactions over $10k, buy any big purchases or invest any, that the chances of me being audited were 1% or less. Me being a college student and not wanting to pay 6k in taxes, I didn't file thinking I would be ok.

So now comes this neteller thing. I used neteller a lot but only had more then $10k one day and the amount was $12k. I moved it the day after.

So now here I am too late for the FBAR form and not having paid taxes. As of now I have $9900 or so in the bank, and th rest online. I am trying to decide what my best play here would be. It seems that in the past people on here have exaggerrated things when it comes to taxes from what other people tell me but I am a complete tax noob so I don't know.