Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-08-2006, 09:11 PM

Default Resume -- how to explain academic history?

Hello,

Cliffs Notes intro: I recently left my PhD program voluntarily to seek employment. I entered in August 2001 and left a month ago. I have a masters degree that I picked up in May 2005.

I'm wondering how to handle/explain this on a resume.

My concerns are:

--If I put something like "former PhD student" in the Education section, it might give the impression I basically flamed out of or couldn't handle the PhD program and that's why I got a MS. Same thing applies if I make a note like "former PhD research" in the part where I talk about a project I did over the last year.

--If I put nothing at all about my PhD work, the employer might wonder why it took me nearly four years to get a masters when I have been at Georgia Tech the whole time. Also, I worked as a TA through this summer and I have a part-time job right now, so at least I don't have a total employment gap, but it might seem unclear or weird how I've been a TA at Georgia Tech even after getting the MS.

--I feel like having passed the doctoral comps with flying colors is pretty good, so I kinda want to put it under Honors. Also, PhD coursework is substantially harder than MS work, and I wouldn't mind conveying that I can handle highly difficult thinking, but I don't really know how to explain this.

Any advice? Thanks a lot.
Old 09-08-2006, 09:32 PM

Default Re: Resume -- how to explain academic history?

I would include it, but don't say "former" - it has a negative connotation. Just something like substantial PhD work/research including passing the comps. Just make it all positive, but be prepared to explain why you decided to not to complete it. BTW, why did you not complete it?
Old 09-08-2006, 09:32 PM

damn, academia life is tough.