Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-18-2007, 03:50 PM

Default odds calculators… helpful? or cheating?

Hello,

I am a newbie to online poker and so far I’ve just played Texas Hold‘em with friends. I thought it would be fun to try and play online poker. I was wondering what the deal is with odds calculators. My friend suggested a free one at pokerwingman.com. He suggested that I use it to get started. He told me it helps coach him by giving him suggestions of when to fold or when to bet. Another friend told me it's cheating to use one. I wanted to get other opinions on odds calculators. Do they really help? Are they considered cheating? Does anyone use them?
Old 07-18-2007, 04:21 PM

Default Re: odds calculators… helpful? or cheating?

I use the odds calculator in my head, but your's sounds alot more effective.

It seems to me like it just serves the same purpose that playing thousands upon thousands of hands would do, i.e. knowing when you are favored.

As for cheating, it seems like the best an odds calculator could do is allow you to make the statistically correct choice at any point, which would not make you impossible to beat. At the worst, it would just make the innumerable suck-outs of online poker worse when you knew going in what percentage favorite your were.

I'm interested to hear other thoughts. Especially concerning whether or not this could be considered cheating.
Old 07-18-2007, 04:24 PM

Neither cheating nor helpful.

edit:
[ QUOTE ]
As for cheating, it seems like the best an odds calculator could do is allow you to make the statistically correct choice at any point

[/ QUOTE ]

It won't even allow you to do that.
Beginning players think only about the cards in their hands, and that's why they think odds calculators are extremely helpful: "I'm going to have a 19% chance to hit my draw and win this."