Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2007, 02:17 PM

Default Help me coach a JV soccer team

Health and Fitness,

I recently got a job as a middle school teacher and have no clue what I'm doing. I was also offered a position as JV soccer coach and although I have no experience coaching and I'm not good at most of soccer (I was a decent goalie though), I figured I was already so far in over my head that it didn't really matter.

I know there are some very experienced soccer players, athletes in general, and coaches on these boards, so I come to you for help in coaching my team. I guess I'm looking for a couple of things - books or websites that help explain soccer strategy so I can get a better understanding of the game, good drills that stress development of fundamental soccer skills, sport specific conditioning exercises, and tips on giving great sports motivational speeches (obv. this last one is the most important).

Some ideas I've had so far: I want to make sure everyone gets into games (since it's JV and I don't care if we win; I'm looking at the JV team as a place to try and improve the basic skills and level of the program), and I want to try and do a lot of miniature game situations: lots of 6v6, 5v5, 3v3 kept inside the 18, etc. Other than this though, I'm kind of at a lost for what drills and exercises will be most important for helping the team develop solid basic soccer skills.

To make this more general interest, feel free to post clips of ridiculously awesome goals and plays:

Pele fools goalie
Old 08-15-2007, 02:47 PM

Default Re: Help me coach a JV soccer team

That Pele goal is RIDICULOUS! heres a recent one from Ronaldinho I like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IB8Yf2kB29g
Old 08-15-2007, 03:30 PM