Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions

Old 11-28-2007, 10:12 PM

Default What level should I play?

Within thirty days, I will have some money on an online site and I was hoping to get suggestions as to what level I should play at in order to practice good bankroll management, but have a chance to make at least some money.

I have some experience playing 1 cent/2 cent no limit and 2 cent/4 cent limit on PokerStars due to my freeroll winnings, but I have not played that much.

Should I start playing at those levels despite the fact that my bankroll would allow me to play at a higher level or should I start at the highest level my bankroll would allow?

Would someone tell me what level that would be? As I am not sure how much I am going to deposit, would someone tell me what levels for each $25 I might deposit? In other words, what level should I play if I deposit $25, what level should I play if I deposit $50, what level should I play if I deposit $75, and what level should I play if I deposit $100?

Would you please express the answer in terms of blinds and not 10NL, 20NL, 50NL, etc?

Thank you in advance for your responses.
Old 11-28-2007, 10:38 PM

Default Re: What level should I play?

Don't deposit only $25 that could be gone if you have an early bad run. I would say at least deposit $50. With $50 you will have 25 buy-ins for .01/.02 (2NL). I wouldn't play higher than .01/.02 if you only deposit $50. If you deposit $100 you can start at .02/.05 (5NL). For .10/.25 (25NL) I would deposit at least $500. To figure out what level you can play based on your bankroll do (BB*100)*20. So for example at .02/.05 (.05*100)*20 = $100.
Old 11-28-2007, 10:48 PM

I recommend starting NL with a $0.02 big blind whether you deposit $25 or $2500.

Bankroll management is for winning players. If you have no experience, you should not assume that you are going to start out as a winning player.