Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Golf
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-24-2007, 12:36 AM

Default Short game help...Is there a theory behind it?

So, I wanted to learn poker. I bought Theory of Poker and found 2+2 and learned all this cool stuff about poker. Played a couple hundred thousand hands and proved to myself that I can "beat the game"(by my standards).

I've been golfing recreationaly for about 10 years, now my 10 year old daughter is learning and I'm trying to help. She has a good swing and hits full shots well. She takes part in 2 or 3 JR golf programs a year. Like most golfers, the short game is the biggest problem. I try and work with her around the practice green, but we wind up either getting frustrated, or just goofing off most of the time.

I guess what I'm asking is, is there a theory behind it like there is a theory behind poker? What am I trying to do when I am chipping, or putting? (Technique wise, I know what my main goal is)

Are there some good drills to groove my chipping stroke so I know I have the technique down?

Any book recommendations on short game, or working with kids on understanding the game and the swing?

I guess I had a few more questions than I originally thought. I'm still in the OMG a golf forum right here on 2+2 phase.

Thanks,
Ben
Old 04-24-2007, 01:30 AM

Default Re: Short game help...Is there a theory behind it?

I'm not sure if there is a good book, I'm more of a hands on learner. My best suggestion would be to get a "short game" lesson from a pro. Have them go over technique and everything. They'll give you a bunch of good drills and it should help your game a ton. I just go out and hit shot after shot after shot to try and improve my short game..
Old 04-24-2007, 01:40 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Are there some good drills to groove my chipping stroke so I know I have the technique down?

[/ QUOTE ]