Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-04-2007, 04:00 PM

Default help me move down - advice needed

Up until very recently, I have only played 1 table at a time. I have played as high as 3-6, but spent most of my time before an extended break playing 2-4. When I started playing again, my BR allowed for me to play .5-1 and 1-2. For two months now, I've been playing 2 tables with no help from a HUD.

Last week, I started playing three tables at a new site (FT), with the benefit of Realtime HUD. My goal short-term is to beat the game 4-tabling. Well, my game has dropped off pretty significantly with the third table. I find myself making very hasty calls and raises a few times a session, which is more than enough to put me in the red. To preserve my roll while learning, I've moved all the way down to .25-.5 which I've never played before. I'm trying to work out ways to play in a little bit more of a zen mindset, but it's obvious that these games play significantly differently than .5-1 and 1-2 do. And honestly, I'm most comfortable with the style of play common at 2-4 and 3-6.

So here's my question. I typically play a 23/18ish style but often change gears and play like a 33/25 (have not been doing too much of this with third table, tho). Am I better off tightening the conservative end of my range? If so, what would you recommend given my situation? Am I best off sticking to ABC play with little room for bluffing? Of course, my stats could be OK, but I'm just getting killed by bad play on later streets...

Also, any advice about habits/mindset for multitabling is welcome.
Old 09-04-2007, 04:04 PM

Default Re: help me move down - advice needed

dont tighten up just to add more tables. you'll get the best winrate playing your best poker at however many tables you can handle.