Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Golf
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-21-2007, 11:52 AM

Default Beginner - Some Questions

Hi there,

sorry for my bad English, I'm from Germany.

Today I took a 5 hour golf lesson which allows me to play on 6-hole course. Now I need my own golf clubs. Is a $300-400 beginner set ok? Something like this: http://cgi.ebay.de/Hudora-Golf-Set-Herre...VQQcmdZViewItem

I read about different tees (different colours). Are all tees the same or do I need special tees for beginners? Whats the difference?

Thanks
Old 07-21-2007, 12:16 PM

Location: ***yankees offseason thread*** oh and Gd River Ave Blues
Default Re: Beginner - Some Questions

hi, i've been golfing for a couple of years, but i am still very much a beginner. i chose to go the 'nice clubs' route, and bought a set in the $200-300 range. so here's my take.

i wish i didn't buy that set. it has nothing to do that they are not the greatest clubs, but more to do that as a beginner i don't know what i need. my swing hadn't become consistent, i didn't know what length clubs i should get, i didn't know the right grip or stance.

basically, i wish i didn't get a new set of clubs that probably wasn't going to work for me. i wish i had gotten a second-hand set that i'd run into the ground for a couple of years and get something fitted for me.
Old 07-21-2007, 12:23 PM

Location: ***yankees offseason thread*** oh and Gd River Ave Blues

by the way, my set of clubs is very similar to the one you linked. i also bought them on ebay.

i try to use regular tees, and i try to set them up at the same height every time
Old 07-21-2007, 12:30 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Hi there
I read about different tees (different colours). Are all tees the same or do I need special tees for beginners? Whats the difference?

Thanks

[/ QUOTE ]