Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-13-2006, 05:52 PM

Default 1 year as a pro

I graduated with a computer science degree 1 year ago. I’ve been playing poker exclusively since and it was by far the right decision for me, not that everything has been perfect nor is it right for everyone. I’ve probably averaged about 25 hours per week of ‘work’ not including live play which would probably push it closer to 40 (because I often play lots of hours when I go to Vegas or LA and play at Canterbury from time to time).

Do I get sick of poker? Sort of but not really. I get sick of the swings and prolonged downswings are decently frustrating (I’m currently trying to pull out of a 3 month one). I surely don’t get as sick of it as much as I’d get sick of a ‘normal’ job. If I don’t feel like playing, I don’t. That simple. If I’m frustrated, I don’t play either. I often have a big enough drive to get hands in that I have no problem cranking them out and feel great when I get lots of hands in. I’ve averaged somewhere around 35-40k per month. Skiing is my main passion (off and on I spent probably 6 weeks out west this winter) and I did some other traveling and started a relationship this winter so I got less hands in for a few months, but others I’ve got much more in. Basically I live first and fill ‘empty time’ in with poker.