Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:08 AM
Dennisa Dennisa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,268
Default Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

I was dealing last night in a tournament. Player A goes all in for 20K. Player B on the button announces call, moves 20K chips into the pot. I start to look at player C the small blind, and commotion starts. I look at B and he has flipped over his cards thinking action is over, but sb/bb have not acted yet. Player A is calling to kill player B's hand. SB/BB have not acted. Floor rules that Player B's hand plays and his 20K plays. sb/bb then fold.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:17 AM
Seb86 Seb86 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 215
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

good rulling imo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:47 AM
TakenItEasy TakenItEasy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 638
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

I think the ruling is correct but the player should have received a 10 hand penalty if he won the pot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:52 AM
bav bav is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

Penalties are not mandatory and in a typical baby tourney the TD won't penalize someone for an accident. Even in a "real" tourney you may get away with it once.

WSOP circuit event I was in a kid intentionally exposed his cards once and was just told to knock it off, which he disagreed with and vocally let the floor know this. Then like 5 hands later he just tells the table out loud what he has and finds himself on the rail watching for 10 minutes. Again he thought he was being treated completely unfairly since he didn't technically turn his cards over. But he stopped with the stupid tricks after this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:52 AM
RR RR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on-line
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

[ QUOTE ]
I think the ruling is correct but the player should have received a 10 hand penalty if he won the pot.

[/ QUOTE ]

This depends. If he exposed his hand with the intention of inducing or reducing action he should receive a penalty, if it was an accident he should not receive a penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2007, 02:33 AM
TakenItEasy TakenItEasy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 638
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
I think the ruling is correct but the player should have received a 10 hand penalty if he won the pot.

[/ QUOTE ]

This depends. If he exposed his hand with the intention of inducing or reducing action he should receive a penalty, if it was an accident he should not receive a penalty.

[/ QUOTE ]

I believe with the new set of rules they are more strict on this. One guy showed his hand from the small blind with a limper in the hand, he honestly thought that there were no callers and just showed his garbage. He was penalized 1 orbit which essentially blinded him out. I think it was Matt Savage that made the rulling although it may have been his assistant.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2007, 03:29 AM
Dennisa Dennisa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,268
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

It was essentially a charity tournament that I dealt last night, high buy in, $1000 max to the winner.

From what I could tell the player who turned the cards over did it by mistake. The UTG allin player who raised first in started going ballistic. It ended up the UTG player was dominated, and I think only made the stink to play an angle.

UTG player ended up sucking out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2007, 05:32 AM
RR RR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on-line
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: Calling Player flips cards prematurely.

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
I think the ruling is correct but the player should have received a 10 hand penalty if he won the pot.

[/ QUOTE ]

This depends. If he exposed his hand with the intention of inducing or reducing action he should receive a penalty, if it was an accident he should not receive a penalty.

[/ QUOTE ]

I believe with the new set of rules they are more strict on this. One guy showed his hand from the small blind with a limper in the hand, he honestly thought that there were no callers and just showed his garbage. He was penalized 1 orbit which essentially blinded him out. I think it was Matt Savage that made the rulling although it may have been his assistant.

[/ QUOTE ]

This is a differnt situation than showing because you think you are at show down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.