Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2007, 04:15 AM

Default Taking down the pot early

Hi, i just started playing 2NL Hold'em recently. I have been reading stickies in the PL/NL Texas Hold'em Micro Stakes section to improve my game. I have been winning profit (small profit as it is) with my current game, in which I usually take down the pot usually on the flop or turn. This includes when I'm bluffing and when I actually have a hand.

I recently tried to change my game by trying to extract more value when I have a hand. However this has been backfiring for me. An example hand when I have KAs. Flop comes up K74 rainbow. With hands like top-pair it seems that more often than not if I do not take it down on the flop I get outdrawn. Even on the flops that look draw-less.

So my question is, is it better to take down pots earlier when you have hands like TPTK? And just wait for 2-pair, sets, trips, and better to go further?
Old 08-04-2007, 10:20 AM

Default Re: Taking down the pot early

I try to stick to what you were doing before - taking down the pot early with TP/TK. The only action you are going to get on the hand you gave as an example is a hand that beats you (a set). So winning a small pot is all you can hope for in that situation.

If I remember correctly, I believe that 2 pair is the average winning hand, so TP/TK is still relatively weak if you are in a large pot, so try to take those pots down early before they get too big.

Going broke with TP/TK used to be a huge problem for me but you just have to stop and think about what your opponent would be raising or calling you with in each situation.