Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Two Plus Two > Special Sklansky Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2007, 01:10 AM
David Sklansky David Sklansky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 5,092
Default How About This Game Theory Problem

So today when I got into the 25-50 blind no limit, nine handed game at the Bellagio they told me there was a seven deuce bonus. Win the pot with 72, even without a flop and every player must give you $200. Which brings up this question.

Seven players fold to you in the small blind. You have 2000 more in your stack and must move all in or fold. With what hands should you? What should the big blind call you with? If I'm reading the chart in the Mathematics of Poker correctly, the move in hands would normally be any pair, any ace suited, K7 or better suited, Q8 or better suited, J9 or better suited, T8 or better suited, 98suited, 87 suited, A7 or better offsuit, KT or better offsuit, QT or better offsuit, or JT offsuit.

The calling hands would be fives or better, A8 or better suited, KJ or better suited, AT or better offsuit, and KQ offsuit.

Does the $1600 bonus (plus your extra $200 risk) change that to any signicant degree?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2007, 03:32 AM
Spence Spence is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 374
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

I'll take a swing at this. Add in 27 and 97s for raising all in. throw in 33-44 (not too sure about this), A7s, and 27 for calling.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:33 AM
Justin A Justin A is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Clark County
Posts: 6,340
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

Obviously you should move in with 72 now.

Your opponent should only add A9o to the calling hands. He cannot call with 72.

I assume that if your opponent only calls with 12 more combos that it should barely change the move-in hands if at all. So no, the $1600 bonus does not change that to a significant degree, other than moving in with 72 of course.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2007, 02:03 PM
Spence Spence is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 374
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

I was incorrect about calling with 72, wouldn't be getting the pot odds even with such a wide range, but yes move all-in with 72, and add A7s to call list, why add A9o but not A7s?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2007, 03:14 PM
Justin A Justin A is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Clark County
Posts: 6,340
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

[ QUOTE ]
I was incorrect about calling with 72, wouldn't be getting the pot odds even with such a wide range, but yes move all-in with 72, and add A7s to call list, why add A9o but not A7s?

[/ QUOTE ]

I ran sims on PokerStove and A9o got over the threshold as a call hand but A7s did not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2007, 03:47 PM
drunkencowboy drunkencowboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 203
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

I assume you have only 200$ in your stack, not 2000$ as I still dont see why must you must move all in or fold?

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:12 PM
Medrakil Medrakil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 144
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

It's a hypothetical situation, you have 2k, and some rule says it's folding or shoving only.

(right?)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:41 PM
etizzle etizzle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cold
Posts: 2,269
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

[ QUOTE ]
Obviously you should move in with 72 now.

Your opponent should only add A9o to the calling hands. He cannot call with 72.

I assume that if your opponent only calls with 12 more combos that it should barely change the move-in hands if at all. So no, the $1600 bonus does not change that to a significant degree, other than moving in with 72 of course.

[/ QUOTE ]

of course you call with 72
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:48 PM
drunkencowboy drunkencowboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 203
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
Obviously you should move in with 72 now.

Your opponent should only add A9o to the calling hands. He cannot call with 72.

I assume that if your opponent only calls with 12 more combos that it should barely change the move-in hands if at all. So no, the $1600 bonus does not change that to a significant degree, other than moving in with 72 of course.

[/ QUOTE ]

of course you call with 72

[/ QUOTE ]

I assume you mean that your opponent in the BB will of course call with 72off. This is retarded.

* He doesnt get the money unless he wins!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2007, 07:33 PM
Spence Spence is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 374
Default Re: How About This Game Theory Problem

Thats weird how A9o went over the threshold and not A7s, you would think you'd rather play a hand that dominates the only other hand that would supposedly be played. I did not use any programs etc to come to my decision (which is an error in itself) I used logic. I made a mistaken with calling with 27 without doing a quick run of pot odds, which you would not be getting enough of.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.