Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Full Ring
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-14-2007, 12:43 AM

Default 5NL - Is this too tight? + First Post

Hi, first I will give you a bit of background info on myself. I have been playing poker for about 18 months now, and
initaly started playing in the free pub poker leagues around my area. I had some success, and won a trip to vegas last year.

I then started playing online with play money and eventually moved onto the low limit SNG's and MTT. I was getting a bit frustrated with the low limit MTT and SNG and so I decided last month (while on a no internet based break) that I would start to play the micro cash games.

So here is a had I played today, I think it was probaly a little too tight. The villins stats where 22/5/1.1 after about 100 hands.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.05 BB (8 handed) Hand History Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com (Format: 2+2 Forums)

MP2 ($1.24)
CO ($8.16)
Hero ($5.85)
SB ($2.90)
BB ($6)
UTG ($4.99)
UTG+1 ($6.29)
MP1 ($1.87)

Preflop: Hero is Button with Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">CO raises to $0.2</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $0.6</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">CO raises to $8.16</font>, Hero folds.

Final Pot: $1.27

I think that his 3 bet range would be JJ-AA, AK and mabey AQ. Is this too tight of a PF range for 5NL? Is just calling in position a viable option?
Old 09-14-2007, 01:04 AM

Default Re: 5NL - Is this too tight? + First Post

good fold. not too tight. IMO it is a classic 'i'll pretend to be weak then have him call my all in when i have a good hand' situation.
Old 09-14-2007, 01:13 AM

oh and calling in position is rarely ever a viable option in this situation, especially at NL 0.05
Old 09-14-2007, 01:50 AM