Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-15-2006, 11:47 PM

Default 6 max or full ring?

Hi guys/gals, I appreciate any of your input here.
I'll start with a little of background information. I have been playing poker for about 4 years but only for recreational purposes and never really knew much about the game. I got into online poker about 6 months ago and played $25 NL and MTT's. I have been about a break even player but didn't get to play as much as I would like to have played so I think that I'm a break even player from luck rather than skill. I decided that I want to move over to limit poker because the downswings are much less. I just finished reading the book SSH and and about to start TOP. I want to start at .50/1 and slowly work my way up to as high as I can get (10/20 [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img])Right now I am having trouble deciding whether to play 6 max for full ring games. I want to pick one or the other and move my way up through the limits playing the same type of table so that it will be easier adjustments. So here go some questions: Which type of table is more beatable at the small stakes? Medium stakes? High stakes? How does play compare from the two types of tables for example tight..agressive..passive..? What do you suggest someone who is just starting to learn holem to play. How differently is the play in 6 max from the stategies that Sklansky gives in his book SSH? I know that 10 max is more of a game of winning with straights and flushes compared to 6 max which top pair etc.. will win but what else is there? Anything else that you can think of that will help me decide which limits to play. I am not just looking at limits at the small stakes becuase I know it will be easier to win at either table but I am also looking into the future (well hopefully I will move up in limits) where the stakes will be more an