Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Full Ring
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-22-2007, 01:00 AM

Default 5NL Pocket 77 vs an unkown, flop OESD.

Hi,

I'm a limit player who is trying to make the transition to no limit after a 2 year hiatus from the game. This is my first NL hand posting since I started playing micro NL about a month ago. Thus far, most of the situations I've found myself in have been really straight forward. But this is a hand I know i misplayed and I'm not really sure of the correct line.

READS: This was my first time playing against villain and had only been at this table for a few orbits. Initial assumption was this player was playing very passively, limping in a lot of pots. I had not witnessed him raise pre-flop until this hand so, not really sure what his range could be.

Poker Stars, $0.02/$0.05 NL Hold'em Cash Game, 7 Players
LegoPoker Hand History Converter

BTN: $8.14
SB: $8.82
BB: $4.32
UTG: $6.44
UTG+1: $9.44
MP: $10.50
Hero (CO): $10.32

Pre-Flop: 7 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 7 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] dealt to Hero (CO)
3 folds, Hero raises to $0.20, BTN raises to $0.35, 2 folds, Hero calls $0.15

<font color="blue">Villain has been limping a lot of pots. Since I have not seen him raise a hand, and since I will have to play the hand OOP, I decide to give him credit for a premium PP and play my hand for set value. Is this a good assumption or, is a reraise in order here? </font>

Flop: ($0.77) T [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 8 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 9 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] (2 Players)

<font color="blue">OK, now I have an OESD. What's the best line? If he does have a high PP, do I have FE here to try a semi bluff? What's the best play? Bet, CF, CC, CR?
</font>
Thanks.
Old 10-22-2007, 01:12 AM

Default Re: 5NL Pocket 77 vs an unkown, flop OESD.