Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-02-2007, 06:18 AM

Default Advice/Ideas for investing a large amount of money?

If you had a large amount of money, let's say approximately $35,000,000 USD, what would be the smartest way to invest it?

I am a total novice when it comes to investing, so I am wondering, would you recommend putting it in a money market? (I believe you can earn 3.5% tax-free correct?), hedgefunds? Stock market? Real Estate?

What percentage would you put in each vehicle?

Are financial advisors for major brokerage houses usually trustworthy?

Should some of the money be invested outside of the US in order to protect against a declining dollar? If so what percentage, and where?

Will it be possible to earn approx. 5% after taxes at very low risk?

Are prenuptial agreements enough to protect against divorce settlements?

Answers to any of these questions would be greatly appreciated

Thank you!
_Hotel
Old 03-02-2007, 10:35 AM

Default Re: Advice/Ideas for investing a large amount of money?

With $35M, unless you wanted to spend a lot of time dealing with it yourself, you would want to hire an independent financial advisor / manager / planner. Not one from the major brokerage houses -- they charge too much. Not a comission-based one, but instead, a fee-based one.
Old 03-02-2007, 11:50 AM

put it all in orange juice.

seriously, use professionals.
Old 03-02-2007, 12:38 PM

[ QUOTE ]
If you had a large amount of money, let's say approximately $35,000,000 USD, what would be the smartest way to invest it?

I am a total novice when it comes to investing, so I am wondering, would you recommend putting it in a money market? (I believe you can earn 3.5% tax-free correct?), hedgefunds? Stock market? Real Estate?