Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Heads Up Poker

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2007, 01:14 AM
soop soop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 154
Default NLTRN hypothetical situation

You are playing a standard opponent who isn't ubertight and hasn't made any crazy/donkish plays so far. He limps on the button a lot though. You are 15-20 hands in and have equal stacks.

You've raised the last two pots and taken them down uncontested. If this is standard for you lagtards, make it 3 or 4 in a row. Now, opp limps and you look down at KQ or whatever is a borderline raising hand for you OOP. Do you still raise, given you've raised the last few hands?

I typically raise a much smaller range, as I find it difficult to figure out if opp is reraising light or not, but I'm not sure if this is standard.

Second question - what if you are the limper, do you give people more or less credit the third time they raise?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2007, 01:19 AM
SuperPokerJedi SuperPokerJedi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Home Sweet Home
Posts: 635
Default Re: NLTRN hypothetical situation

1.)Raise
2.)Less credit that's why I raise again!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2007, 04:18 AM
ChicagoRy ChicagoRy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: husng training site
Posts: 2,083
Default Re: NLTRN hypothetical situation

They talk about this in mathematics of poker.

They use calcs obviously to figure it out, but if an opponent raises the first hand of the match it is more likely he's raising a ton than if he folds the first hand of the match (he is more likely to be a tighter player). The larger sample you have the less margin of error you can factor into your decision making.

I think most people ignore the first 5 hands of a match unless villain has raised like 5-10x each time. I think this is a semi leak in a lot of players. I may be wrong, but it should probably factor more into people's decisionmaking if villain raised 3 of the first 5 buttons or whatever, than if he did 1 of the first 5. Nothing to dramatically change things, but it's the difference in a lot of situations that are semi close in your mind that come up early.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.