Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-23-2006, 11:56 AM

Default 5/10 big draw - How to play it?

So I just started playing limit hold'em and I'd like to hear your opinions on how to play this hand. This was at a 5/10 limit game. I'm mostly interested in how to play the flop, but comments appreciated on all streets. I don't think I played any street very well, which is why I decided to post the hand.

I was CO and everyone folded to me. I had 5[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] and I raised to steal the blinds. The button reraised, and getting about 6.5:1, I called (7.5 sb). The flop came down Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 9[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. I check called.

The turn came a blank, maybe 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]. I check raised here, but I know it was a mistake. Villian called. The river blanked and I check/folded.

I think I should have led and reraised the flop, and check/called the turn. Any suggestions appreciated.
Old 10-23-2006, 12:10 PM

Default Re: 5/10 big draw - How to play it?

In low limit games, you'll find the blinds will call quite often and you'll find yourself playing for a small pot with an inferior hand. Therefore, I would fold this preflop. Obviously who the blinds are matters, but against a table full of unknowns I would probably raise here with a suited ace, T9s on up, KTo on up, and a PP maybe 55 on up.

Now that you're here, I would check-raise this flop and lead most turns.
Old 10-23-2006, 12:26 PM

Most often you should fold preflop. I would check/raise the flop and lead the turn. Any reads?
Old 10-23-2006, 12:27 PM