Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-30-2007, 05:23 AM

Default Index fund decision: Vanguard or Fidelity Target Retirement

OK, I have my SE 401(k) through Fidelity, Vanguard does not offer what I wanted. I have a Roth IRA through Vanguard and own their Target 2045 Retirement Index Fund and am very happy with that and to leave the decisions out of my hands.

I just contributed my 2006 amount to my new Fidelity 401(k) and now need to decide what to invest it in: I can invest it for no upfront fees in Fidelity's Freedom 2045 Fund (FFFGX). It has an expense ratio of ~0.70%. Alternatively, I can invest in Vanguard's Target Retirement 2045 Fund (VTIVX) which has an expense ratio of 0.21% but I must pay a $75 online processing fee.

I am very new to this stuff, but the Vanguard one seems clearly better looking at the difference in expense ratios for only a $75 fee, I think I should go with that one. Just wanted to check here to make sure my thought process is sound and if anyone knows of a good reason to prefer one of these target retirement funds over the other I'd love to hear it.

Thank you,
DeathDonkey
Old 03-30-2007, 05:42 AM

Default Re: Index fund decision: Vanguard or Fidelity Target Retirement

FWIW, you can surely build a comparable asset allocation with a lower expense ratio and w/ likely v. similar performance using Fidelity Funds:

[ QUOTE ]
Vanguard Target Retirement 2045 Fund (VTIVX)

Allocation To Underlying Funds as of 02/28/2007
Ranking By Percentage Fund Percentage
1 Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund 71.9%
2 Vanguard European Stock Index Fund 10.4%
3 Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund 10.2%
4 Vanguard Pacific Stock Index Fund 4.8%
5 Vanguard Emerging Markets Stock Index Fund 2.7%
Total — 100.0%

[/ QUOTE ]