Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Sports Betting
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-08-2006, 03:49 AM

Default Detroit/Oakland Series

Detroit/Oakland Series

I’m sure some discussion on this series will come up soon but figured I’d ask about it now.

I’m not a baseball expert at all. I usually just bet occasional dogs and follow recommended plays of the more knowledgeable posters in forums.

Anyways:

At the beginning of the season I bet Detroit to win the American League at some great odds. I’m curious now if I decide to hedge this when would be the best time to hedge?
I’m guessing the best time is probably going to be sometime between now and the first game?

Also I am looking forward to reading discussion on the series.
Old 10-08-2006, 06:11 AM

Default Re: Detroit/Oakland Series

Please don't hedge [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Old 10-08-2006, 09:18 AM

I'm curious as to:
What were the odds you got, how much did you bet, what % of your bankroll does that make up? Also, how badly do you want the money?

At the time I checked Pinnacle the series price was:
Tigers -111
A's +101

At +101, it is pretty close to being 50/50 for who will win the series, you should be in a situation that is close to neutral in terms of how it will affect your EV.

Covering you initial bet or doing a 75/25 split on the payout could be a great way to go. You can also wait to hedge at any time during the series. If Detroit drops a game or two you'll have a less valuable, but still profitable hedge, but you also get the chance to win your bet.
Old 10-08-2006, 02:05 PM

Don’t get me wrong I was not asking if I should hedge or not, I was asking if anyone has thoughts on when would be the best time to do so. [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]