Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes

Old 11-21-2007, 05:53 PM

Default Story of a SSNL wannabe

So I’ve been sort of lurking around SSNL for a while now, but thought I’d actually take some time to tell my story and get some advice on where to go from here. I’ve been playing online poker on an off for a few years now, alternating between SNGs and 6max NL cash games. Had some success in both, up a bit overall, but about 6 months ago I decided I wanted to get serious about cash games. I put 2k online, and started playing .5/1 nl 6max. Here’s what that looked like:

In the beginning I was running mad hot and became wayyyy overconfident that I was crushing the game when in fact, I was not. I was running at around 26/12/2 which I now know is pretty awful. As you can see, eventually my luck turned around and I quickly lost everything I had made. At first it was due to running bad, but I’m pretty sure I tilted off a few buyins in there too near the end. I was totally disheartened, having lost everything I had made so quickly and being forced to face the realization that I was not beating the game as solidly as I had thought, if at all.

Ended up taking a break from poker for a while, and when I had cooled off and was ready to get back into it, a close friend of my suggested I play 20k hands of 25nl where I KNEW I could beat the game. I was overrolled for this game, and knew this wasn’t necessarily the most profitable thing to be doing at the time, but it seemed like a good way to 1) gain back some of the confidence I had lost before and 2) work on fixing some leaks and improving my game. Over the past month and a half I’ve put in just over 18k hands at 25nl, which has looked like this: