Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-31-2007, 09:58 PM

Default Harrington\'s \"M\"... still a relevant and good concept?

I have read HoH recently and he talks a about M "blinds divided by stack" and reading into another topic about Harrington's WPT win someone mentioned

"I'm not surprised. Most of the tournament hotshots ridicule his books and dismiss his play as "weak-tight". Just look at how obsolete, in the view of some, the whole concept of M has become."

I am just wondering what is the thinking behind M being now obsolete. Thanks.
Old 08-31-2007, 10:15 PM

Default Re: Harrington\'s \"M\"... still a relevant and good concept?

I'm just a noob, but, the idea of M being obsolete or irrelevant is preposterous. M, which is actually stack divided by the sum of blinds and 1 round of antes, is the most accurate measure of how much "play" is available to you and your opponents. In my opinion, it is the most crucial variable in any poker situation for determining the level of aggression or patience you can allow yourself to employ. It will never be obsolete any more than pot odds, or the fundamental theory of poker will become obsolete.

Not being able to see the context of the quote you provide, I can only assume that the speaker was perhaps referring to "red zone" inflection point play, where when your M falls below 5, your options become limited to push or fold. Perhaps that strategy is no longer as effective as it once was because it does not carry with it the fold equity it once did, now that the tactic has become part of conventional wisdom.
Old 08-31-2007, 10:45 PM

In the forward section of the Full Tilt Tournament Guide the editor mentions that the Full Tilt pros thought very highly of Harrington and his books.
Old 08-31-2007, 11:00 PM