Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-27-2007, 05:16 PM

Default Stud - style of play - discussion

Being 57 years old and never having successfully balanced a checkbook, I managed to be a moderately successful Hold 'em player by memorizing some percentages and playing just on instinct, for the most part.

Then I started playing stud games. Now I'm reading Sklansky's SoP, I found this sentence beginning one chapter:

[ QUOTE ]
"Why is it that so many percentage players seem to only eke out a living, while many of the most successful players are relatively weak on probability?" (Sklansky on Poker pg 48)

[/ QUOTE ]

He goes on to say that the "instinctive" players can outperform purely percentage players because percentages are mostly important to before draw play and psychology, logic and maybe game theory more important after. Before the draw play mistakes are least important. My impression from reading the chapter is that this is most obvious in Stud limit games.

I'm never going to be "one of the most successful" players, but this gave me hope that I can get good enough to play at mid-level. I was wondering what the experience is, or the opinions are, of those who play the various stud games.

Do you play strict percentage poker? Do you think Sklansky is correct here about instinctive players having an advantage from 4th onward? Do you think percentages become less important as you progress through a 7 card hand?
Old 08-27-2007, 06:21 PM

Default Re: Stud - style of play - discussion

I dont think there is any contradiction between percentage and instinctual play. The type of player you are facing changes the percentages of what his hand holds. The larger argument is that if you are facing good players, making plays beyond the percentages makes possible to cause them to play suboptimally.
Old 08-28-2007, 12:54 AM

[ QUOTE ]