Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-23-2007, 11:55 PM

Default Buying house, interest only loan the way to go?

Im currently a sophomore in college and at the begining of junior year I plan on putting a down payment on a house and renting out two rooms. I will probably be selling the house in 3-5 years since ill be out of college. I have heard that getting an interest only loan is better for short term so the money I will make will be just what the house appreciates in value. Any info or advice on this would be helpful. I still have to do a lot of research before I go further into this because I am very new to this and have recently been winning a lot of money and now want to invest it into something.
Old 10-24-2007, 04:37 AM

Default Re: Buying house, interest only loan the way to go?

If you can afford the monthly payment, getting a traditional mortgage is cheaper than an interest only loan because even though the monthly payment is more, the interest portion is less due to a lower rate.
Old 10-24-2007, 04:53 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Im currently a sophomore in college and at the begining of junior year I plan on putting a down payment on a house and renting out two rooms. I will probably be selling the house in 3-5 years since ill be out of college. I have heard that getting an interest only loan is better for short term so the money I will make will be just what the house appreciates in value. Any info or advice on this would be helpful. I still have to do a lot of research before I go further into this because I am very new to this and have recently been winning a lot of money and now want to invest it into something.

[/ QUOTE ]

Don't get involved with a marginal property move if you're not an expert in this kind of environment. You have been warned.
Old 10-24-2007, 08:22 AM

[ QUOTE ]
house appreciates in value