Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-21-2007, 01:37 PM

Default which universities??

I'm applying for a university in the states, im from sweden so im a international student... i want to study something in the area of economics (marketing/management).

School should have good general reputation
Good undergraduate program
Good master program for further study if i make it [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Easy for international students to get into
Warm allround weather around the city, i hate cold winters!

thanks for helping me out!
Old 11-21-2007, 01:51 PM

Default Re: which universities??

You're from Sweden and you don't like cold weather? lol

That's going to cut out a lot of really good programs in the North.

Check out this site for a list:

http://www.graduateshotline.com/study/economics.html

While the ratings are for their grad programs, they all have undergrad programs as well.
Old 11-21-2007, 01:51 PM

I think private schools will generally be easier for an international student to get into at the undergraduate level. state schools have to pay the piper, so to speak.

at Berkeley, I believe the breakdown was something like 90% from CA, 8% out of state, 2% international.

I think US News is the most heavily relied upon rankings site for general reputations of universities in the US, but don't put too much faith in it.
Old 11-21-2007, 01:58 PM

wow, isn't like impossible to get into schools like harvard,stanford, MIT ect.... i mean i dont have perfect grades... :S

how do i know which school are private or not??
Old 11-21-2007, 02:31 PM