Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing

Old 10-08-2007, 10:50 PM

Default FXI - China and market collapse

Approximately 3/4 of a year ago, I allocated a decent percentage of my portfolio to FXI - a large cap China ETF. While not the most well researched investment, at the time I was very bullish on China's long term outlook primarily due to GDP trends and what I forsee as a duopoly b/w China and the US as soon as Chinese GDP and defense spending matches (overtakes) the US.

Obviously, this ETF has enjoyed enormous returns over the past year. While very familiar with corporate finance etc I have little experience trading outside of some well researched value plays I have made in the past. With this particular holding I feel like I am trying to time the tech market collapse. From a fundamental value perspective I can't help but think nearly all of the companies I hold in the index are overvalued.

On the other hand, for psychological (and political/legislative reasons) I feel like money will probably continue to pour into the chinese stock market.

So my question is, does anyone have any advice on how to deal with this situation? What is the most reasonable approach to thinking about buying more / selling my holding?
Old 10-08-2007, 10:53 PM

Default Re: FXI - China and market collapse

what does the rest of your portfolio look like? what % is this of your entire portfolio?
Old 10-08-2007, 11:10 PM

Rest of main portfolio (excluding some deleveraging from cash sitting around):
26% S&P500
20% Russell 2000
12% VGK - Europe ETF
12% FXI - China ETF
5% Japan ETF
5% Bet on Magna from a while back when you could buy it through the equity at 3.5x EBITDA after all the autos got slammed
10% Big bet on GS after all the financials got slammed, I am slowly selling this off.
5% TOL after the homebuilders traded off hard for the second time
5% HY bond fund