Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-25-2007, 05:01 PM

Default LO8: Raise or limp UTG with premium hands???

Obviously part of this has to do with the dynamics of the table at the time, but I'm curious as to what people think about this. Let's say with a hand like AA24 double suited. Raise or limp UTG?
Old 08-25-2007, 05:25 PM

Default Re: LO8: Raise or limp UTG with premium hands???

In Mike Cappellatti's "How to win at Omaha Hi Low" book he says to limp big hands like this in early position to build a bigger pot. I follow this advice as I am new to the game and do not question a seasoned pro.
Old 08-25-2007, 05:54 PM

Lucere - This topic has been kicked around ad nauseum. People pretty much have their own ideas.

I find that very fine opponents differ. (Some raise more than others).

I personally play Omaha-8 quite differently from Texas hold 'em and various other games. I'll usually (but not always) raise when entering the pot in Th'e, and from almost any position. But I usually do not raise when entering the pot in O8 (but sometimes I raise).

You wrote:[ QUOTE ]
Obviously part of this has to do with the dynamics of the table at the time.

[/ QUOTE ]I think whether to raise or limp UTG with any hand entirely depends upon the dynamics of the table.

AA24 double suited is clearly a premium O8 hand. Of the 16432 uniquely different starting hands, I rate AA24 double suited as the number two best possible starting hand (followed in order by AA34d, AA25d, and then AA23 single suited).

Which of these fine starting hands is better is moot. They're all premium starting hands.

These are great starting hands because
(1) they fit well with lots of flops, enabling you to continue,
(2) they often end up as the nuts,
(3) they play well in a full game, and
(4) they play well short handed.