Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-06-2007, 06:16 PM

Default I\'ve got 100K, now what?

Basically I just inherited $100K and instead of blowing it at 1000NL, I decided to invest the money. I'm a relative investing noob, so I don't really know what to look for.

I was looking at CD's at some local banks, and the avg. return is about 5%. I feel that there should be better options out there.

I am risk averse. I'm not looking to buy penny stocks and make a quick buck. Rather, I'm looking for some solid investments for the long term, i.e. Mutual Funds, Blue Chips, etc...

How do I go about finding a good mutual fund? Do I sign up with Morgan Stanley or some other bank and have an advisor help me out, or should I do it myself through etrade or whatever? Are there any websites out there that rank mutual funds?

What would you do if you were in my shoes?

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-06-2007, 07:08 PM

Default Re: I\'ve got 100K, now what?

This is a good place to get started...
link
Old 02-06-2007, 07:28 PM

You can also go speak to an investment banking professional. However, for what it's worth, I'd recommend putting about 1/4 of that in a high-yield blue chip. There is some risk, but in the equity scheme of things, much lower than most.

One example is Bank of America stock. It pays a 4.4% annual dividend (almost on par with CDs) and also has the potential to gain (or lose) value per share. I've held 500 shares for about 18 months, and in addition to regularly quarterly dividends, the value of the stock itself has gone up another 22%.

The best thing you can do is set up a balanced portfolio that includes at least a couple of blue chips, a broad range of mutual funds (so that you can be in a few sectors, thus reducing variance, if you will), and take a flyer on a couple of more speculative plays. (I don't mean penny stocks.)