Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-04-2007, 12:54 AM

Default question about ipo\'s

When a company makes a second IPO or follow up offering, where does that equity come from? Is the company simply saying, "we think our company is worth another $100 million" so we are going to sell $100 million worth of stock?

isn't this pulling money out of thin air? What about the investors in the initial IPO? does there value decrease?

thanks.
Old 02-04-2007, 02:14 AM

Default Re: question about ipo\'s

I'm a beginner myself but I think it is common for companies to retain some of the shares of itself on an ipo. Presumedly a second offering would allow investors to purchase some of these shares that they held on to from the first offering. I.e. a company offers 50% of its shares in an ipo and retains ownership of the other 50%, a year later there is a second offering where the company sells off another 25% of the total shares meaning it still holds on to 25% of its own shares. I think this is what happens but I would appreciate if someone could verify or correct this.
Old 02-04-2007, 03:20 AM

Company directors can authorize the creation of additional shares for the purposes of additional funding.

This tends to shaft the initial investors, but if the company's survival is at stake, they do whatever is necessary.

BTW, just as a matter of terminology, it's extremely rare for a company to do a "second IPO".

The only cases, that I'm aware of, is where a company does a an IPO, then gets bought out by a private equity firm, then again goes public.
Old 02-04-2007, 05:25 PM