Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions

Old 11-20-2007, 04:19 PM

Default I just lost my virginity

Hello, I'm a science/computer geek, I've been studying the game for a while (Harrigton, Slansky, Miller) and playing a bit on the intertubes without real money (I know, I know) and in a couple of house games, both of them I beat but that doesn't mean almost anything (well, that I'm not a complete newbie). I've know I got lots to learn.

Here's my notes on my first experience in a poker tournament I just played.

My objective here was to get some flight hours in live play, have fun and of course, trying to win.

I have to say that I enjoyed playing face to face with other people. It was all friendly and my biggest issues was the small elbow space at the table and how fast some decisions need to be made.
It was also surprisingly tiring.

Overall pretty happy with the overall experience and doing some introspection now on how to improve since I think I played mediocre (no big blunders but a few mistakes and very few good moves).

I was worried that I was going to make some faux pas like string-betting or something but everything was pretty amicable and I will always advertise when I was betting: "call", "raise 600".

I only had time for just second level thought: what I have, what the other may have. No reads or anything, everything very fast for me. Only a couple of times a player thought for a while (less than a minute) before folding to an all-in re-raise.
A couple of times they warned me that the action was to me but I wasn't distracted, just thinking.

About the tourney: pretty standard I think, only the final table got prizes.

Blind structure (going up every 15 minutes): 25/25, 25/50, 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600...
Starting with 2,000 in chips. Tables were 9-handed although they could would briefly go down to like 6 players before the tables were re-organized.