Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Software
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-12-2007, 01:26 PM

Default Is it possible to protect poker programs from decompiling?

Ive written a few basic ahk scripts for my own use but I'm working on something that I may want to eventually make commercial. Is using afk viable for this? The language certainly makes the coding easier but I dont want write something new that someone else can just decompile and steal. I know you can lock afk scripts - if I do that and then throw it into the exe compiler is that sufficent protection? I'm sort of lost on this end of it and any help would be appreciated.
Old 04-12-2007, 01:41 PM

Default Re: Is it possible to protect poker programs from decompiling?

Disclaimer: I'm not a programmer -- I do a lot of database work and a lot of design work, but my coding skills are pretty limited.

That's one of the reasons I like AHK so much -- ease of use.

One of the more experienced AHK programmers can comment also, but I think the ease of use leads to trade-offs with sophistication and the amount of functionality you can put into a script.

Not slamming AHK at all -- but depending on what you have in mind there is only so much that you can do with AHK.

So if you're planning a commercial product, imo I think you'd want to use something besides AHK.
Old 04-12-2007, 01:42 PM

I really hope Juk or Roland comment. I'd love it for them to tell me I'm wrong -- I'll start studying AHK more seriously myself!!!
Old 04-12-2007, 01:43 PM

[ QUOTE ]