Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Video Games

Old 10-06-2007, 01:35 PM

Default Earning $ with WOW - advice from you addicts please :)

I used to play WOW...way back when it was still a fairly new game. I've still kept slightly in-touch with the community, but haven't really had the desire (or time) to play the game a hobby. I'm a poker pro and really dont have any financial worries. I can never put in more than 120h/month playing poker, so I'm looking for some kind of hobby to bring in some money in between poker sessions.

THE POINT:
I like games, and always have. I'd like to find some kind of way to make a decent $/hr on WOW, but am not sure if something like this would be possible.

I definitely wouldnt go about it the usual shmuck way leveling up some hunter and camping whatever area for hours at a time. From what I've seen through google (that wasnt a giant MAKE $$$ FROM WOW OMG EBOOK scam) it seems like those players make 3-5$/hr which is not even close to worth my time.

If I were to do this, I'd take it a few levels higher. I would "multi-box" 5 characters simultaneously and do profitable instances/etc while leveling up. On top of this, I'd probably add a 6th account to be an auction house character - funneling all of my equipment/gold from my 5 played characters to that account, and selling/playing the auction house with the 6th.
Example of 5-boxing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ilKi...ed&search=

My questions to you WOWers are:
1) Would it be possible for a player doing instances with 5 accounts to pull in a substantial earn? I'm talking 25-30$/hr+.
2) What is the best method of selling gold/items that you come across? Would one be better off selling everything off personally on ebay? Is there some way to make a deal with one of the many sites that sell WOW gear, so that you are a Supplier?