Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-12-2007, 12:05 AM

Default To stick with engineering or not?

Okay, so I am a freshman Engineering major. I am leaning towards mechanical engineering, but I don't have to officially decide which branch until end of sophomore year I believe.

I chose engineering basically because I've always been good at math/science and found them most interesting. To be honest I don't even want to be an "engineer" after college, and I'm pretty sure I don't want to go to graduate school. But people, including my adviser, have told me that an engineering degree provides all kinds of opportunities outside of engineering.

So we're past the halfway point of the first semester, and I'm doing fairly well so far grade-wise. I understand the math and science stuff, but I just feel like I don't have the engineering mindset. I'm not very handy and not that good at putting things together. I also am not good at visualizing objects.

All of those skills seem pretty essential for engineering. Are these skills things I will be able to learn as I go? Even if i switched out of engineering, I'm not sure what I would do instead. Math maybe, but I'm not sure.

Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.
Old 11-12-2007, 12:08 AM

Default Re: To stick with engineering or not?

a common alternate major for engineering drop outs is business. Try out finance if you enjoy math or business information systems.
Old 11-12-2007, 04:31 AM

Preface: I'm a senior in mechanical at UIUC graduating this year.